Students for Life of America

540.834.4600​

Media: Kristi Hamrick: khamrick@studentsforlife.org

Find your key contacts

Who to Contact

 

In order to stop abortion drugs from coming to campus, we are asking all pro-life advocates to contact key people at state universities. Below you can find a list of who to contact and key talking points to use.

 

  • Student health centers are not equipped to determine the location, size, and development of a preborn child.

  • The abortion pill, RU-486, cannot be used past ten weeks, meaning accurate assessment of pregnancy is necessary via ultrasound.

  • Without ultrasounds, camps health centers are incapable of detecting whether a pregnancy is ectopic or intrauterine, meaning they could be held liable for improperly giving out abortion pills.

  • RU-486 can cause extreme bleeding, and universities are not equipped to properly respond to these complications or to administer blood transfusions should a woman  hemorrhage.

  • Colleges could face legal liability should a woman die after taking the RU-486 abortion pill … and the FDA reports that at least 22women have already died from RU-486 complications -- four of them in California.


 

University of California System:

 

Kieran Flaherty, Associate Vice President and Director

Phone: (916) 445-9924

kieran.flaherty@ucop.edu

 

Karen French, Associate Director, Legislative Affairs

Karen.French@ucop.edu

 

Meredith Turner, Associate Director, Institutional Relations and Advocacy

meredith.turner@ucop.edu

 

Angela Gilliard, Legislative Director

angela.gilliard@ucop.edu

 

Jason Murphy, Legislative Director

jason.murphy@ucop.edu

 

Tyler Aguilar, Legislative Director

Phone: (916) 445-9924

tyler.aguilar@ucop.edu

 

The contact info for each university can also be found here: https://www.ucop.edu/state-governmental-relations/staff-liaisons/campus-and-medical-center-liaisons/index.html

 

California State University System

 

Advocacy and State Relations:

Phone: (916) 445-5983

 

Andrew Martinez, Senior Legislative Advocate

amartinez@calstate.edu

 

Nichole Muñoz-Murillo

nmurillo@calstate.edu